page contents
GoldUSD 1,198.60   per Ounce
SilverUSD 14.25   per Ounce
PlatinumUSD 822.40   per Ounce
PalladiumUSD 1,040.70   per Ounce
Sep 21 2018 16:59 EST


Print this page

CountryIndia – Portuguese
Value10 Centavos (0.10)
Weight2 g
Diameter18 mm
Thickness1.1 mm
OrientationCoin alignment ↑↓






The Portuguese Viceroyalty of India (Portuguese: Vice-Reino da Índia Portuguesa), later the Portuguese State of India (Portuguese: Estado Português da Índia), was the aggregate of Portugal’s colonial holdings in India.

The government started in 1505, six years after the discovery of a sea route to India by Vasco da Gama, with the nomination of the first Viceroy Francisco de Almeida, then settled at Kochi. Until 1752, the “State of India” included all Portuguese possessions in the Indian Ocean, from southern Africa to Southeast Asia, governed by either a Viceroy or a Governor from headquarters established in Goa since 1510. Capital: Goa. In 1752 Mozambique got its own government and in 1844 the Portuguese Government of India stopped administering the territory of Macau, Solor and Timor, being then confined to Malabar. At the time of British India’s independence in 1947, Portuguese India included a number of enclaves on India’s western coast, including Goa proper, as well as the coastal enclaves of Daman (Port: Damão) and Diu, and the enclaves of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, which lie inland from Daman. The territories of Portuguese India were sometimes referred to collectively as Goa. Portugal lost the two enclaves Dadra and Nagar Haveli in 1954, and finally the remaining ones in December 1961, when they were occupied by India (although Portugal only recognized the annexation in 1974, after the Carnation Revolution and the fall of the Estado Novo regime).

               20 May 1498 Vasco da Gama arrives in India.
27 Sep 1503 – 07 Jan 1663 Cochin a Portuguese possession.
1502 – 15 Feb 1663 Cannanore a Portuguese possession.
1502 – 24 Dec 1661 Quilon a Portuguese possession
(Dutch occupation 29 Dec 1658 – 14 Apr 1659).
13 Sep 1505 Anjediva (Angediva) acquired by Portugal.
15 Feb 1510 – 30 May 1510 Portuguese occupy Goa.
30 May 1510 – 25 Nov 1510 Bijapur occupies Goa.
25 Nov 1510 Goa a Portuguese colony.
1523 – 15 Jan 1662 Cranganore (Kottappuram) a Portuguese possession.
1523 – 1662        Portuguese settlement of São Tomé de Meliapore.
23 Dec 1534 Baçaim (Bassein) and its dependencies ceded to Portugal;
organized as the Northern Provinces.
21 Dec 1535 Diu acquired by Portugal.
02 Feb 1559 Damão (Daman) acquired by Portugal .
15 Jul 1580 – 01 Dec 1640 Portuguese India along with Portugal a Spanish possession.
23 Jun 1661 Bombaim (Bombay) and its dependencies ceded to England.
18 Feb 1665 Final cession of Bombay to England (without its dependencies).
1687 – 21 Oct 1749 São Tomé de Meliapore re-occupied by Portuguese.
23 May 1739 Baçaim lost.
17 Dec 1779 Dadra, Nagar and Haveli acquired by Portugal.
07 Sep 1799 – Nov 1802    British troops garrison Goa, Portuguese rule continues.
03 Sep 1803 – 02 Apr 1813 British troops garrison Goa, Portuguese rule continues.
18 Dec 1946 Overseas province of Portugal.
21 Jul 1954 Dadra then Nagar and Haveli (02 Aug 1954) occupied by Indian
nationalists (Aug 1961 annexed by India).
19 Dec 1961 Goa, Damão, and Diu occupied by India.
16 Mar 1962 Annexed by India.
31 Dec 1974 Annexation recognized by Portugal.

Related Listing