page contents
GoldUSD 1,184.60   per Ounce
SilverUSD 14.76   per Ounce
PlatinumUSD 782.80   per Ounce
PalladiumUSD 887.30   per Ounce
Aug 17 2018 16:59 EST

Jaipur Indian State1922-1947 Extremely RARE British Period One Anna Cash Coupon

Print this page

Jaipur Indian State
Extremely RARE 
British Period
 One  Anna Cash CouponDuring the period leading up to and including World War II, the war effort against the Axis Powers caused a scarcity of metals for coinage. The Princely States where British India coins circulated could not keep up with the demand for coins. To offset the coin shortage, several of the Princely States located in western India including Rajasthan, issued “Cash Coupons” as a substitute for coins. Note that many of these Princely States were micro nations with an area of 100 – 200 square miles.
Initially the Princely States sought permission from the government to issue the low denomination cash coupons.When requests were turned down, many of the Princely States issued these Cash Coupons unofficially. Most of the Cash Coupons issued were impressions of the revenue stamps on cardboard – some of them had serial numbers and others did not. In some cases, the Cash Coupons were issued through the State’s treasury and bear the signature of the treasurer. However, there were many Cash Coupons that were issued without signatures. Many states also issued restrictions on how the Cash Coupons could be used; for example in some states they could only be transacted in a lump sum equivalent to one Rupee.

From 1818 to 1947 in the present-day Indian State of Rajastan (Rajputana Agency), there were several princely states that were under the protection of the British Empire.  The largest were Jaipur, Udaipur and Jodhpur.  The smaller princely states were Alwar, Banswara, Bharatpur, Bikaner, Bundi, Dholpur, Dungarpur, Jaisalmer, Jhalawar, Karauli, Kishangarh, Kotah, Kushalgarh, Lawa, Mewar, Patan-Torawati, Pratabgarh, Shahpura, Sirohi, Tonk, Vallabhpur. This may not be an exhaustive list.

Cash Coupons from Princely States that are now in the State of Rajasthan are discussed in this entry.


Bharatpur was founded in the late 17-th century by Lord Aditya Consul.  Subsequent rulers brought the Jats together to create a formidable nation.  Shown below is a photograph from 1962 of the 11-year old Maharaja of Bharatpur, Jaswant Singh with his entourage of servants and relatives at a durbar. 


Maharaja of Bharatpur durbar, circa 1862

Under British rule, Bharatpur enjoyed a 17-gun salute.  The Bharatpur flag under the British Raj is shown below.


Bharatpur Flag

The ruler of Bharatpur at the time of Indian Independence was Maharaja Brijendra Singh who acceded to the Government of India in 1947 and is now a part of present-day Indian State of Rajastan.

Related Listing